Saturday, August 6, 2011

Masterpiece Mystery schedule update

Starting tomorrow, Masterpiece Mystery begins a month of encore episodes of Inspector Lewis - check your local schedules carefully, though, because it is likely that many PBS stations will be in the middle of membership drives. Tomorrow's encore episode is from Inspector Lewis Series II, entitled Point of Vanishing. Here's a brief teaser about the episode:
Watch an encore presentation of Inspector Lewis on MASTERPIECE MYSTERY! In The Point of Vanishing, the murder of a small-time criminal leads Lewis and Hathaway to a prominent Oxford celebrity atheist who years earlier had been the intended target of a botched murder attempt. Could these isolated incidents be connected?

Check your local listings carefully as your local station is likely in its membership drive (your support helps keep shows like MASTERPIECE MYSTERY! on the air). This encore episode may not be airing in your area or may be scheduled at alternate times.
You can read my review of Point of Vanishing here. If your local PBS station isn't reairing the episode, you'll be able to watch it online for a limited time.

The Masterpiece Mystery schedule through October has been posted - here's what we have to look forward to:


Kevin Whately returns as Inspector Lewis in the popular detective series. Featuring four new episodes, Lewis and his young partner DS Hathaway (Laurence Fox) continue solving cases in the seemingly perfect academic haven of Oxford. (All episodes 90 minutes. National broadcast dates in bold; online viewing dates in parentheses.)

Aug 7 (Aug 8 – Aug 21) The Point of Vanishing (Encore)*

Aug 14 (Aug 15 – Sept 13) Counter Culture Blues (Encore)*

Aug 21 (Aug 22 – Sept 20) The Dead of Winter (Encore)*

Aug 28 (Aug 29 – Sept 27) Dark Matter (Encore)*

Sept 4 (Sept 5 – Oct 4) Old, Unhappy, Far Off Things

Sept 11 (Sept 12 – Oct 11) Your Sudden Death Question (Encore)*

Sept 18 (Sept 19 – Oct 18) Wild Justice

Sept 25 (Sept 26 – Oct 25) The Mind Has Mountains

Oct 2 (Oct 3 – Nov 1) Falling Darkness (Encore)*

Oct 9 (Oct 10 – Nov 8) The Gift of Promise

Jason Issacs (Harry Potter, The Patriot) stars as private investigator Jackson Brodie, the tough former soldier and policeman with a heart of gold, in these mysteries based on the acclaimed novels “Case Histories”, “One Good Turn”, and “When Will There Be Good News?” by Kate Atkinson. Brodie, haunted by a past family tragedy, struggles to balance his personal and professional life while coming to the rescue of the bereaved, the lost and the dysfunctional in the Scottish city of Edinburgh. (All episodes 120 minutes. One viewing dates to be announced.)

Oct 16 (Oct 17 – Nov 15) Case Histories – Episode 1

Oct 23 (Oct 24 – Nov 22) Case Histories – Episode 2

Oct 30 (Oct 31 – Nov 29) Case Histories – Episode 3

*Limited local airings; please check local listings.

Episodes can be viewed online for a limited time at


Heidenkind said...

I can't believe I have to wait a month for new episodes. :'(

Unknown said...

@heidenkind - I know, I am not super happy about that either. No more Zen, and a month until new Hathaway? HOW WILL WE SURVIVE??

Lori Benton said...

Case Histories sounds interesting. Jason Issacs as a good guy, in Scotland. There you go!

Lori Benton said...

PS: I depend on you to hear about most upcoming programming. Thanks!

Unknown said...

@Lori Benton - I'm looking forward to seeing Jason Isaacs on Masterpiece - looks promising! And you are so welcome! :)

Alexandra said...

Jason Isaacs...a good guy! Woot-woot! I love his villians muchly, so this sounds really interesting. :-)

Unknown said...

@Alexandra - Yep, I'm intrigued - especially since I'm not familiar with the source material. :)